Books

Women of Steel

When war broke out, the young women of Sheffield had their carefree lives turned upside down. With their sweethearts being sent away to fight, they had no choice but to step into the men’s shoes and become the backbone of the city’s steel industry. Through hard toil and companionship, they vowed to keep the foundry fires burning and ensured that soldiers had the weapons, planes and ships needed to secure victory over Hitler.

When the men returned from the front in 1945, many of these women tragically found themselves discarded ‘like yesterday’s fish and chip wrappers’. But decades later, a grassroots campaign spearheaded by the elderly Women of Steel finally brought their remarkable story to light.

Women of Steel is the last chance to hear these unsung heroines’ voices, as they share first-hand how a group of plucky young women rallied together to win the war for Britain.

Michelle was a dream author to work with. She was incredibly collaborative throughout the publishing process, taking on ideas and suggestions with a positive can-do attitude, and meeting every deadline that headed her way. Having built her own community of readers, she is also a fantastic champion for her work, and the glowing 5* reviews on Amazon speak for themselves.

Fiona Crosby

Editor for Women of Steel, Headline

The Steel Girls

When war breaks out, friendship will see them through

‘A heart-warming story perfect for saga lovers’, Nancy Revell, Sunday Times bestselling author of The Shipyard Girls series

Sheffield, 1939. With war declared, these brave women will step up and do their bit for their country

The Steel Girls start off as strangers but quickly forge an unbreakable bond of friendship as these feisty factory sisters vow to keep the foundry fires burning during wartime.

‘Hardship, courage and hope on the Home Front’ Kate Thompson, bestselling author of Secrets of the Lavender Girls

The Steel Girls by Michelle Rawlins

Christmas Hope for the Steel Girls

The second novel in the Steel Girls series

Winter 1939

As December draws nearer and with her family facing their first Christmas without Bert, Nancy is desperately trying to keep up her children’s spirits and her own.

Young Patty should be excited to be spending her first festive season with sweetheart Archie, but why does she worry he’s keeping something from her?

Betty is missing her beloved William as he continues his RAF training but she’s determined not to sit around wallowing. In the midst of the coldest winter on record and with the introduction of rationing, times are tougher than ever but Betty has an idea to make sure nobody goes without this winter.

And with our Steel Girls rallying around each other, can there still be hope this Christmas?

The second novel in the new heartwarming Steel Girls series following our feisty factory sister’s bravery and hope during wartime, perfect for fans of Nancy Revell and Elaine Everest.

Christmas Hope for the Steel Girls

Michelle is one of the hardest working authors I know and I’m always in awe at how she manages tight deadlines and multiple projects with ease. It’s been a real pleasure working with her on The Steel Girls series so far – Michelle has deftly turned her hand to writing historical fiction and brings not only great knowledge of the period and attention to detail thanks to the interviews she’s conducted with the real-life women of steel who worked in the Sheffield steelworks during the Second World War, but brings the characters to life brilliantly with real warmth so they leap off the page and feel like friends you’re rooting for.

Katie Seaman

Editor for The Steel Girls, HQ Stories